State Bar of Arizona logoHere is some news from my colleague Alberto Rodriguez:

The State Bar of Arizona and 12 News hosted the July Lawyers on Call on Tuesday, July 9, focused on employment and labor law issues. The following is a recap of the public service program.

There were nine attorney volunteers: Denise M. Blommel, Dawn Farrison, Trey Dayes, Richard Galvan, Don P. Johnsen, Leah Lewandowski, Michelle Matheson, Shari C. Mauney and Jessica L. Post. Seven of the nine attorneys were first-time volunteers.

The volunteer attorneys answered an impressive 124 calls on employment and labor law issues.

Here is a sample of the consumer questions:

  • 12 News Phoenix logoExempt vs. Non-Exempt: Should I be getting paid for excessive/overtime hours?
  • Do I qualify for worker’s compensation? What is the process?
  • I believe I’m being sexually harassed at work. What can I do?
  • I am the fifth person over fifty years of age to be fired recently. Is this age discrimination?
  • Can I be fired without knowing the reason?
  • How do I collect unpaid wages?
  • How do I know if I qualify for the Family Medical Leave Act?

The overarching topics were wrongful termination, unemployment benefits, worker’s compensation, wage disputes, and age/race discrimination.

The 12 News team was successful in adding a social media component to the phone bank. Consumers were able to ask their questions via the 12 News Facebook page, and attorney Trey Dayes responded with his recommendations/advice.