A smiling Justice Antonin Scalia in 2010, by photographer Stephen Masker, Wikimedia Commons

A smiling Justice Antonin Scalia in 2010, by photographer Stephen Masker, Wikimedia Commons

Justice Antonin Scalia came to Phoenix in May, where he spoke to a warm Federalist Society audience.

I was unable to attend, but I am happy to recommend a blog post by Ashley Kasarjian, who did dine and listen to the Justice’s musings.

Ashley is an employment and labor attorney at Snell & Wilmer, as well as the chair of the Arizona Attorney Editorial Board.

Here is a link to her post, which covers the event, which sounds like it was highly entertaining.

I have opted to head my post with an open-source image of Scalia, rather than hijack and copy Ashley’s own great photo of him (though I’m soooo tempted!). To see that, you need to click through and scroll to the bottom of her post (it’s worth it!).

Ashley explained to me that as she approached to get her book signed, she realized her phone-camera settings were not right. So the good Justice had to be delayed for a flicker of a moment (my estimation, not hers), leading to the curmudgeonly gaze (my review, not hers).

But the reaction Ashley engendered may not be unique. I just came across another shot of Justice Scalia, this one on the Arizona GOP website. If anyone had their photo filters set to “charmed” for this particular photo subject, it would be them. And yet … grimace.

You also can see the same photo in this tweet from the @AZGOP:

(Maybe “grimace” is unfair. But he would not be the first public figure to “check out” after, say, the 2,000th photo of the day.)

In any case, it’s always an honor to have a Justice in Arizona to dine, speak, sign, and dash. Enjoy Ashley’s summary.