Don't you wish all your legal events were this randomly awesome? (and note her name badge)

It is Day 2 for me here in New Orleans, where I’m attending the midyear meeting of the National Association of Bar Executives. My primary focus is on work for the Communications Section Council on which I sit—but the learning opportunities are far broader than that.

As a Bar person myself, I couldn’t help but look around for some of my bar colleagues from Louisiana. And I’m pleased to point to two robust local organizations that serve the public and their members.

The New Orleans Bar Association grabbed my interest due to their willingness to have a good time in conjunction with public service. I suppose that may be the New Orleans modus operandi.

Their website is good and all, but you really must stop by their Facebook page to see that they have it goin’ on. The NOBA “Pro Bowl O Rama” (“Bowling a strike for pro bono!”) should be emulated at all bar associations across America—especially the costume-contest element that leads to my photo of the day (see above).

No less fun-loving, I’m sure, is the Louisiana State Bar Association. Though they may or may not be amenable to costumed affairs (their web presence is judiciously silent on the topic), they do put out a good magazine.

Understand, I am still partial to Arizona Attorney, but the Louisiana Bar Journal is no slouch. It has good substance and a design that reveals an artistic eye is at work there.

Their current issue includes an insightful article by Keith Hall about the laws surrounding fracking. (I know, I know, the oil and gas industry doesn’t like the term. But until someone comes up with a euphemism that is just as catchy, I think they’re stuck with it.)

The same issue includes a book review (I do like book reviews) of the book “A More Noble Cause: A.P. Tureaud and the Struggle for Civil Rights in Louisiana” (the book is by Rachel L. Emanuel and Alexander P. Tureaud, Jr. It was reviewed by E. Phelps Gay).

To keep getting more of that quality Louisiana legal know-how, be sure to Like the New Orleans Bar on Facebook and to follow the LSBA on Twitter (@LouisianaBar).

Tomorrow: Some more from fascinating New Orleans, with a legal twinge.