Paul Schiff Berman

This afternoon, I received a press release indicating the Paul Schiff Berman has accepted a position as Dean at the George Washington University Law School.

The release came to me from GWU. I confirmed the fact of his departure with the ASU Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law, but no additional substance on the matter is forthcoming from them yet. This sounds like they too are playing catch-up.

You can read the complete release here, which mentions another loss that ASU will suffer: Berman’s wife Laura Dickinson, who “serves as ASU’s Foundation Professor of Law and as director of its Center for Law and Global Affairs.”

I will pass on word as ASU Law School gins up the Dean Search Engine once again.

(In the meantime, I have to say: I always get a kick out of seeing this great head shot of Dean Berman, which was shot for us at Arizona Attorney by photographer Jeff Noble in 2009, as Berman was arriving at the school to begin deaning. The school and Dean Berman liked it so much that they have used a cropped version for him ever since. You can see the entire Q&A here. And Jeff Noble’s work is here.)