Arizona Attorney Magazine, November 2015Bending Toward Justice” was the headline for our November cover story of Arizona Attorney Magazine. We thought it was an ideal combination of lawyers practicing yoga and one of the most evocative quotes of the civil rights era.

The full quote from which we drew the concept is, “The arc of the moral universe is long, but it bends towards justice.

Do you recall who said it, and when? (I’ll tell you at the bottom of this post.)

In the meantime, I’ve noted before how yoga has made legal news this fall. So maybe I was just primed for the topic when I opened Google this week to the animated image of a man bending into a yoga pose.

yoga bks-iyengars-97th-birthday-5749978756546560-5758531089203200-ror

Yes, there are more.

yoga Google 2 unnamed

yoga Google 3 unnamedTurns out, those Google staffers were noting what would have been the 97th birthday of B.K.S. Iyengar, “the founder of the style of yoga known as ‘Iyengar Yoga’ and was considered one of the foremost yoga teachers in the world.”

Curious, I asked Wikipedia about him:

“He was the author of many books on yoga practice and philosophy including Light on Yoga, Light on Pranayama, Light on the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, and Light on Life. Iyengar was one of the earliest students of Tirumalai Krishnamacharya, who is often referred to as ‘the father of modern yoga.’ He has been credited with popularizing yoga, first in India and then around the world.”

More detail on this remarkable man is here.

And our quote about the arc of justice?

If you said it comes from Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr., you would be correct. He spoke the moving words in August 1967 when he addressed the Southern Christian Fellowship Conference.

But extra points go to you if you recall that Reverend King was paraphrasing American Transcendentalist Theodore Parker, who lived before the Civil War and who “predicted the inevitable success of the abolitionist cause” this way:

“I do not pretend to understand the moral universe; the arc is a long one, my eye reaches but little ways; I cannot calculate the curve and complete the figure by the experience of sight; I can divine it by conscience. And from what I see I am sure it bends towards justice.”

I hope in this, the stirring month of December, you exercise your power and skill in the effort to bend toward justice.