The cosmos have spoken through my fortune cookie; I'll have to alert my high school guidance counselor.

The cosmos have spoken through my fortune cookie; I’ll have to alert my high school guidance counselor.

Last Friday, managers at the State Bar of Arizona engaged in the first in a series of leadership development dialogues.

I was able to participate, and I look forward to the subsequent conversations. At the end of the series, we all should have learned some valuable lessons, and we may even receive a certification of sorts.

On the very evening of our first meeting, though, I received a very prescient piece of information.

Our meal at a Chinese restaurant complete, I opened my fortune cookie, expecting some general, bland information.

Instead, I received:

“You have the makings of a leader, not a follower.”

Thank you, cosmos.

I wonder, though, whether the learning available in the Bar’s training might be information-overload. I mean, if my plastic-wrapped cookie says I’m on the right track, could additional training derail that? Is too much leadership in one person a risky proposition?

Well, I guess that’s the risk we’ll have to take. I’ll let you know how it goes.