A clean desk: Is that what we aspire to? Really?

A clean desk: Is that what we aspire to? Really?

Happy National Clean Off Your Desk Day.

OK, I admit that may be one of the least-elegant national days of recognition possible (right up there with National Talk Like a Pirate Day). But it is a day that spurs us to action.

I’ve gone on a lot about clean desks here and here, so notice that there is a national day in its honor came as quite a surprise. Never heard of it? Well, it’s out there on the internets, so it must be true. Read more about it here.

The day came to my attention via a communication by fellow State Bar of Arizona staffer Heather King. She alerted me and all staff to the tidy event, when she invited desk photos for an employee competition. (Heather was also kind enough to point to my own blog post as she urged involvement.)

A photo of your desk could win you this book of poetry!

A photo of your desk could win you this book of poetry!

On this special day, I point you to a separate competition, one I wrote about in my January editor’s column for Arizona Attorney.

As I say in my column, I invite you to send a photo of your own work space, and you may include a caption describing why your own desk is a welcome work home for you (or why not, I suppose).

You can read the whole column here.

One person selected by me in a nonscientific method will be rewarded with a book of legal poetry, called Poetic Justice, which I reviewed here. It makes excellent reading and/or re-gifting—your choice!

Send your photo to me at arizona.attorney@azbar.org. And yes, I may publish the photos I get, so be ready for that!