Spoiler alert!

If one of your greatest pleasures is attending the State Bar of Arizona Convention, taking your seat at the Bar luncheon, and being surprised by the great names recited as award winners are announced … stop reading!

The State Bar of Arizona has announced the winners of its prestigious annual awards, which will be distributed at a Convention lunch on Friday, June 22. So if eye-popping amazement is your thing, close the browser window and get back to work.

Sen. Jon Kyl

But for the rest of us, here is the news from the State Bar. And don’t forget to register for Convention.

PHOENIX – June 7, 2012 – The State Bar of Arizona will recognize 16 lawyers and one organization for their contributions to the legal profession at the Annual State Bar Luncheon on Friday, June 22 at the Bar’s 79thAnnual Convention. The event will be held at the Arizona Biltmore Resort & Spa in Phoenix.

Winners were nominated by members of the State Bar of Arizona and were chosen by the Bar’s Awards Committee. Senator Jon Kyl will be among the 17 award winners that will be recognized at the luncheon.

Joe Kanefield, President of the State Bar Board of Governors, will present the following awards:

Todd Lang

Continuing Legal Education Award – Kathleen McCarthy

Committee on Minorities and Women in the Law Award – Rodney Lewis

Outstanding Young Lawyer Award – Kate Frenzinger

Distinguished Public Lawyer Award – Gary Restaino

Justice Michael D. Ryan Judicial Award of Excellence – Hon. Norman J. Davis

Tom Karas Criminal Justice Award – Darrow Soll (posthumously)

Hon. Ann Scott Timmer

Hon. John R. Sticht Excellence in Disabilities Accessibility Award – Arizona Center for Disability Law

Awards of Special Merit – Hon. Ann A. Scott Timmer and Stephen Weiss

Member of the Year Award – Todd Lang

Awards of Appreciation – Alexander Jamison and Karen Osborne

James A. Walsh Outstanding Jurist Award – Hon. James M. Marlar

Sheila Polk

Sharon A. Fullmer Legal Aid Attorney of the Year Award – Mary V. Day

Michael C. Cudahy Criminal Justice Award – Sheila Sullivan Polk

President’s Awards – Alan P. Bayham, Jr. and Sen. Jon Kyl

Online bios and photographs, along with award descriptions, are available here.