Honorees Named

J. Scott Rhodes

In about half an hour, the State Bar will honor its annual award winners. This year’s roster of luminaries includes Jeffrey Messing and Scott Rhodes, Members of the Year.

Here is the press release that gives more detail. And congratulations to all.

State Bar of Arizona Announces 2010 Award Winners

PHOENIX – June 10 , 2010 – The State Bar of Arizona will recognize 18 people and one public office for their contributions to the legal profession at the Annual State Bar Luncheon scheduled for June 11 at the Bar’s 77th Annual Convention. The event is being held at the Renaissance Glendale Resort & Spa.

Winners were nominated by members of the State Bar of Arizona and were chosen by the Bar’s Awards Committee.  Ray Hanna, president of the Bar, will present the awards:

Continuing Legal Education Award – Paul Julien, Arizona Supreme Court

Committee on Minorities and Women in the Law Award – Professor Charles Calleros, Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law at Arizona State University

Outstanding Young Lawyer Award – Lisa Schriner Lewis, DeConcini McDonald Yetwin and Lacy, P.C.

Hal Israel Community Service Award – Lorena E. Chávez, Engelman Berger, P.C.

Distinguished Public Lawyer Award – David L. Berkman, Pima County Attorney’s Office

Career Achievement Award – Public Lawyer – Rodney B. Lewis

Judicial Award of Excellence – Hon. Roxanne K. Song Ong, Phoenix Municipal Court 

Sharon A. Fullmer Legal Aid Attorney of the Year Award – Andy Silverman, James E. Rogers College of Law, University of Arizona

Award of Special MeritAlex E. Navidad, Navidad Leal & Silva, and Gary Stickell

Member of the Year – Jeffrey Messing, Poli & Ball, P.L.C. and Scott Rhodes, Jennings Strouss & Salmon

Award of Appreciation – Susan Armstrong, Maricopa County Superior Court Law Library

James A. Walsh Outstanding Jurist Award – Hon. Barbara Rodriguez Mundell, Superior Court of Arizona, Maricopa County

Tom Karas Criminal Justice Award – Michael D. Kimerer, Kimerer & Derrick PC

Michael C. Cudahy Criminal Justice Award —  Sandra M. Hansen, United States Attorney

Hon. John R. Sticht Excellence In Disabilities Accessibility Award Pima County Public Defender’s Office

President’s Award —  Gregg Maxon and Saji Vettiyil