Shoehorned in with my other tasks this week, I’m trying to learn a little something about SB1070, Arizona’s newest immigration law.

Why? you ask. Just good citizenship?

Well, no, but it’s nice of you to ask. Actually, in two days I’ll have to demonstrate at least a drowsy familiarity with the statute’s elements. Because on Saturday morning, I’ll be moderating a panel discussion on the law.

Well, I have to get back to work, so I’ll just give you the event information. Stop by if you have questions—or statements.

And if you want to suggest any questions for me to pose, post them in the comments or send them to me at arizona.attorney@azbar.org.

SB 1070 Educational Forum

Saturday, May 22, 2010, 10 a.m. to noon

A.E. England Building

424 N. Central Ave., Phoenix

Parking is in the university (UCENT) garage on Polk between Central Avenue and 1st Street

Topics to be discussed include:

  • Immigration policy and reform

Dr. Lisa Magana, author of Straddling the Border: Immigration Policy and the INS

  • Legal and constitutional issues

Ronald Lee, head attorney, Asian American Justice Center, Washington, D.C.

  • Impact  on state and communities

Edmundo Hidalgo

Rep. Ben Miranda

Alfredo Gutierrez

Dr. Karen Leong

More information about the A.E. England Building and the Civic Space Park is here.

